Tennessee Emergency Management Agency

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Announced for Gibson and Lauderdale Counties

Friday, May 27, 2011 | 02:55 pm
17 Counties Now Approved for Disaster Unemployment Benefits
NASHVILLE - The Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development announced today that Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) benefits are now available for workers in Gibson and Lauderdale counties as a direct result of severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding for the incident period beginning on April 19, 2011, and continuing. This is an amendment to declaration number FEMA-1979-DR.

Two Tennessee Counties Added to Federal Disaster Declarations

Thursday, May 26, 2011 | 05:04 pm

Gibson and Lauderdale counties to receive assistance for April 19 storms

NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam announced today President Obama granted a request to provide federal Individual Assistance in two additional counties as part of the current disaster declaration in Tennessee for the record flooding of the Mississippi River, beginning on April 19, 2011.

TEMA Will Provide Update On Response to Flooding and Tornadoes and Recovery Efforts

Monday, May 23, 2011 | 10:09 am


NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The Tennessee Emergency Management Agency (TEMA) will provide a one-month review of the state response to the recent record flooding and tornadoes in Tennessee, and discuss the next steps to recovery, during a press conference at 11:20 a.m., CDT, on Thursday, May 26, 2011, at the State Emergency Operations Center, 3041 Sidco Drive, in Nashville. Officials with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will also join TEMA for the press conference.

DHS To Issue Disaster Food Stamps For Flood Victims In Dyer, Lake, Obion And Stewart Counties

Friday, May 20, 2011 | 04:19 pm

Nutrition Assistance Available For All Eligible Residents In Those Counties


NASHVILLE – On Monday, May 23, the Tennessee Department of Human Services will begin issuing USDA-approved disaster SNAP benefits to eligible residents of four flood-damaged counties that are federally declared disaster areas after record rainfall caused the Mississippi River to overflow its banks. The benefits are for eligible residents of Dyer, Lake, Obion and Stewart counties. Applications for SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, formerly food stamps) benefits can be submitted Monday through Friday, May 23-27; Tuesday, May 31, and Wednesday, June 1.

DHS Plans To Issue Disaster Food Stamp Benefits To Eligible Shelby County Flood Victims

Friday, May 20, 2011 | 04:10 pm

Assistance Available For Residents Who Sustained Flood-Related Loss Or Damage

NASHVILLE – On Monday, May 23, the Tennessee Department of Human Services will begin issuing USDA-approved disaster SNAP benefits to eligible residents of Shelby County, which has been deemed a federally declared disaster area after record rainfall caused the Mississippi River and smaller tributaries to overflow their banks. Applications for SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, formerly food stamps) benefits, can be submitted at four designated Disaster Recovery Centers in the county from Monday through Friday, May 23-27; and again on Tuesday and Wednesday, May 31- June 1.

Receding Waters Opens Roadway in Shelby County

Monday, May 16, 2011 | 11:09 am
MEMPHIS, Tenn. – The Tennessee Department of Transportation has opened State Route 3 (U.S. 51) in Shelby County due to flooding that occurred earlier this month. Flood waters from the Loosahatchie Bottom covered an approximate one mile section of SR 3 at Fite Road, about five miles south of State Route 385. While the roadway was closed more than a week, TDOT inspected the roadway and determined it is now safe to open it to the traveling public.

TDA Foresters Offer Advice on Storm Damaged Trees and Forests

Friday, May 13, 2011 | 02:19 pm
Tree Damaged in East Tennessee by Tornado
Tree Damaged in East Tennessee by Tornado
NASHVILLE – From tornados in the east and flooding in the west to general storm damage across the state, the recent wave of severe storms has caused significant damage to the trees in both urban and rural areas. The Tennessee Department of Agriculture Division of Forestry is offering advice for homeowners and forest landowners.
While cleanup of downed trees is critical to recovery efforts in urban areas, damaged yard trees that are still standing should be left undisturbed unless they present an eminent hazard.
“Even though the top has been blown away, there is still the possibility that the tree may live,” said TDA urban forester Bruce Webster. “Trees have an amazing capacity to re-grow after damage, so it is good to give the tree time to recover.”

Tornado Victims In 6 Additional Tennessee Counties Now Can Apply For Disaster Food Stamps

Thursday, May 12, 2011 | 06:00 pm

DHS Nutritional Assistance Program Available To Eligible Residents Of Bledsoe, Cocke, Johnson, McMinn, Monroe And Rhea Counties Starting May 13


NASHVILLE – On Friday, May 13, the Tennessee Department of Human Services (DHS) will begin issuing SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, formerly food stamps) Disaster Benefits to eligible residents of six additional tornado-ravaged counties that have been federally declared disaster areas following the late April storms. The benefits are for residents of Bledsoe, Cocke, Johnson, McMinn, Monroe and Rhea counties. Applications for SNAP disaster benefits can be submitted daily (except Sunday) through May 20. (Benefits were approved previously for eligible residents of Bradley, Greene, Hamilton and Washington counties.)

EPA: EPA to Urge Caution on Restoration Activities Involving Lead-based Paint

Thursday, May 12, 2011 | 05:01 pm
(ATLANTA – May 11, 2011) Due to recent tornadoes, severe and straight-line winds, storms, and flooding in the Southeastern United States, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Region 4 is cautioning homeowners, volunteers, and other workers to take steps to ensure that individuals, especially children, are not at increased risk for lead poisoning, because of clean up and/or repair work.

I-40 in Arkansas Now Open

Wednesday, May 11, 2011 | 12:38 pm
NASHVILLE, Tenn. – According to the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department, Interstate 40 West has reopened after flood waters from the White River receded overnight. A section of the interstate at mile marker 216, which is about 80 miles west of Memphis, closed last week due to high water.
For more information on road conditions in Arkansas visit www.arkansashighways.com and go to Flood Information or call the Public Affairs Office at 501-569-2572.
In Tennessee, numerous state routes in Shelby, Lake and Dyer Counties remain closed as a result of floodwaters. TDOT expects the closures to remain in place for several days until flooding from the Mississippi River begins to recede.