Tennessee Emergency Management Agency

TDEC Urges Voluntary Water Conservation Measures

Friday, July 06, 2012 | 02:59 pm

Maintaining Adequate Water Supply is an Issue of Both Supply and Demand

NASHVILLE – As hot, dry conditions continue across the state, the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation is asking communities to be mindful of their water-usage practices and to adhere to any voluntary or mandatory water conservation requests made by local utility districts.  Private water well users also are encouraged to conserve water and have a plan of action in place as drought conditions persist.  

UT Extension Launches Response to State’s Drought Conditions

Friday, July 06, 2012 | 09:41 am

Agency provides resources for farmers and ranchers facing critical decisions due to hot and extremely dry weather; information is available for homeowners, too

KNOXVILLE – University of Tennessee Extension has launched a new effort to assist the state’s farmers and ranchers as they respond to the historic and unseasonably hot and dry weather – weather that is causing crops to wither and turning pastures to dust plots. The impacts are already far-reaching, with estimated drastic reductions in harvests, especially in feed available for livestock this fall.

Through a public website, farmers have direct access online to information that can help them make the critical and sometimes heart-wrenching decisions necessary to keep their operations and families financially viable. Information specific to Tennessee production systems has been collected and cross-linked on the website: https://utextension.tennessee.edu/drought/ which will be available to the public free of charge on a 24-hour basis.

"Summer Seven" Can Destroy Good Health

Monday, July 02, 2012 | 12:53 pm

NASHVILLE– While there are health challenges in every season, the summer months are loaded with potential risks and hazards that help fill up emergency rooms and generate unnecessary misery. Most injuries and illnesses occurring from July through September can be avoided with a liberal application of prevention.

State Issues Burn Ban for Seven Counties

Friday, June 29, 2012 | 12:46 pm

Prohibition Applies to All Open-Air Burning, Other Counties Expected

NASHVILLE – State Agriculture Commissioner Julius Johnson has issued a burn ban for Cheatham, Dickson, Gibson, Giles, Marshall, Maury and Sumner counties. The burn ban is effective immediately and will remain in place until further notice.

The ban applies to all open-air burning including leaf and woody debris and construction burning, campfires, outdoor grills and other fire activity outside of municipalities where local ordinances apply.

Under state law, the commissioner of agriculture, in consultation with the state forester, has the authority to issue burn bans at the request of county mayors under certain weather conditions. Requests from county mayors for a burn ban are considered in consultation with the state forester based on a number of factors including weather, climate, fire danger, fire occurrence and resource availability.

Tennessee Department of Health Issues Statewide Extreme Heat Warning

Thursday, June 28, 2012 | 02:08 pm

NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Department of Health is working with partner organizations across the state to reduce deaths and life-threatening conditions caused by summer heat. With temperatures predicted to exceed 100 degrees for several days in much of the state, Tennessee residents and visitors are urged to exercise caution and take preventive steps to avoid heat exhaustion and heat stroke.

Hot, Dry Conditions Lead to Fire Advisory

Wednesday, June 27, 2012 | 04:13 pm

State Officials Urge Citizens to Delay Burning Debris, Leave Fireworks to Professionals

NASHVILLE – State officials are urging citizens to take fire precautions for the upcoming Fourth of July holiday. The Tennessee Department of Agriculture Division of Forestry is asking the public to refrain from debris burning until significant precipitation is received and to avoid other activities that could cause fire.

“Most areas of the state are experiencing very hot and dry conditions with low humidity,” State Forester Steven Scott said. “While permits are not currently required for open, outdoor burning, as a precaution we’re urging citizens to avoid debris burning until conditions improve.”

Haslam Requests Farm Assistance for Hancock, Hawkins Counties

Thursday, May 31, 2012 | 09:01 am

Warm winter and spring with an April freeze has impacted farmers

NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam today announced he has requested a secretarial designation of natural disaster for Hancock and Hawkins counties due to April’s freeze.  

Haslam made the request in a letter to U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack. A secretarial designation would make farmers eligible to apply for lost income recovery, low-interest loans and other disaster assistance through the USDA Farm Service Agency.  

Disaster Food Stamps Available for Tornado Victims in Ten Counties Statewide

Tuesday, March 27, 2012 | 01:31 pm

DHS Assistance Program for Eligible Residents Begins March 29


NASHVILLE – On Thursday, March 29, the Tennessee Department of Human Services, with USDA approval, will begin issuing D-SNAP (Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program) benefits to eligible residents of ten tornado-ravaged counties that have been federally declared disaster areas following the storms that occurred earlier in March. The D-SNAP program is the Food Stamp Disaster program approved via a waiver from the USDA, Food and Nutrition Service. The program allows households that are not otherwise eligible for the standard SNAP program to receive supplemental food assistance during a time of financial hardship caused by tornado damage.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available

Wednesday, March 21, 2012 | 12:51 pm
Ten Counties Eligible for Emergency Unemployment Benefits
NASHVILLE - The Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development announced today that Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) benefits are now available for workers in Bradley, Claiborne, Cumberland, DeKalb, Hamilton, Jackson, McMinn, Monroe, Overton and Polk counties as a direct result of severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding from February 29, 2012, to March 2, 2012.  The declaration number is FEMA-DR-4060. 

Haslam Announces Disaster Aid for 10 Counties

Saturday, March 17, 2012 | 09:09 am

Individuals and Small Businesses Eligible for Federal Recovery Assistance

NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam announced today the federal government will provide Individual Assistance in Bradley, Claiborne, Cumberland, DeKalb, Hamilton, Jackson, McMinn, Monroe, Overton and Polk Counties under a disaster declaration for the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding of Feb. 29 to March 2, 2012, with a federal designation of DR-4060.