Tennessee Emergency Management Agency

FEMA: Beware of Disaster Scams During Flood Recovery

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 | 07:07 am
NASHVILLE Residents in the disaster-designated counties affected by recent storms and flooding are urged to be careful of scams during recovery efforts.
"Unfortunately, some people prey on others, taking advantage of their misfortunes," said Gracia B. Szczech, Federal Emergency Management Agency Federal Coordinating Officer in charge of the recovery efforts. "We urge disaster survivors to be especially careful."

Free Crisis Counseling Available to Flood Victims

Monday, May 24, 2010 | 10:47 am
Mental Health Services Available in 45 Counties
NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities (TDMHDD) received a $380,265 grant from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) to provide free crisis counseling to individuals impacted by the severe storms, historic flooding, and tornados that began April 30, 2010.
The department will collaborate with five community mental health centers in Middle and West Tennessee to provide basic mental health services in affected communities including individual and group crisis counseling, public education, community networking and support, and both adult and child needs assessment and referral.

Disaster Programs Approved for Cannon, Giles & Marshall Counties

Monday, May 24, 2010 | 09:45 am

Food and Cash Assistance Programs for Eligible Flood Victims Starts Monday


WHAT:            The Tennessee Department of Human Services today received approval from  the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) to operate the Disaster and Replacement Food Stamp programs for eligible flood victims in three recently declared disaster counties:  Cannon, Giles and Marshall.   Current Food Stamp Program beneficiaries may qualify for replacement benefits if they lost food due to power outages of 12 hours or more.   Residents NOT currently enrolled in the program may be eligible for disaster food stamps.

I-24 East in Grundy County Reopens to Traffic

Saturday, May 22, 2010 | 11:07 am

Sinkhole Repairs Complete at Mile Marker 127 near Coffee County Line

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. – I-24 East at mile marker 127 in Grundy County near the Coffee County Line is now open to traffic.  The roadway reopened at approximately 6:00 a.m. CT Saturday, May 22.  I-24 had been closed for several days as a result of a massive sinkhole that developed suddenly on the morning of Tuesday, May 18.

FEMA: Downloadable Flyers Available

Friday, May 21, 2010 | 02:41 pm
Print Flyers on SBA Assistance and Getting Rid of Mold
NASHVILLE - FEMA and TEMA have made available one-page flyers that can be printed and used as handouts in the ongoing Tennessee flood recovery efforts. 
Download and print flyers on: 

FEMA: Registrations Near 50,000 In Tennessee

Thursday, May 20, 2010 | 03:55 pm
NASHVILLE – The recent storms and record-setting flooding in Tennessee have been met by a robust response from the state of Tennessee and the Federal Emergency Management Agency.
So far, almost 900 federal employees from across the country are now working to meet the needs of disaster survivors. Nearly $113 million in disaster grants and low-interest loans have been approved since the major disaster declaration May 4, 2010, enabling Tennesseans to repair and rebuild.

FEMA: Clean Up Damaged Homes, Record Damages

Thursday, May 20, 2010 | 03:51 pm
NASHVILLE – Residents in flood-damaged homes should begin cleanup as soon as it’s safe to enter their houses. There is no need to wait for a visit from FEMA damage inspectors to clean your home, but it’s important to record damages and keep receipts. Property owners can use video or photographs to record the damages. Documentation will be crucial when filing for government assistance and submitting insurance claims.