Tennessee Emergency Management Agency

Haslam Announces Federal Assistance For 18 Counties

Thursday, August 14, 2014 | 11:48 am

Counties receive disaster recovery funds for June flooding
NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam today announced President Obama has declared 18 counties as federal disaster areas as a result of severe weather on June 5-10. State and local governments and electrical utilities spent nearly $10 million in response to and recovery from the wind damage and flash-flooding impacts.

“This federal aid will help our communities in rebuilding and recovery,” Haslam said.  “State and local teams worked quickly to survey damage in more than 35 counties to determine the impact of these storms, and we are grateful for this assistance.”

TDH Protecting Tennesseans from Emerging Diseases

Friday, August 08, 2014 | 02:20 pm

NASHVILLE – Protecting people from infectious diseases is a vital part of the mission of the Tennessee Department of Health, and TDH works around the clock to prepare for, respond to and protect people in the state from diseases both familiar and new to Tennessee. TDH has plans in place to respond to emerging diseases such as Ebola Virus Disease that are now spreading outside the U.S. as well as future health threats that may develop.

State to Assist with Tornado Debris Clean-Up

Friday, August 01, 2014 | 11:38 am

Multi-Department Task Force to help in Claiborne and Campbell Counties

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Nashville – The Tennessee Emergency Management Agency will be coordinating with several state departments and agencies to respond with a task force and clean-up storm debris from public right-of-ways in Claiborne and Campbell Counties. This effort is in response to requests from the two County Mayors, who report the volume of debris from an EF-3 tornado in the July 27 storm has been overwhelming for local resources.

Multi-State Disaster Scenario Puts Focus on Preparing for Earthquakes

Thursday, June 19, 2014 | 08:00 am

Tennessee’s Catastrophic Plan Exercised with CAPSTONE ‘14


Memphis, TN – The Tennessee Emergency Management Agency (TEMA) has wrapped up a week-long multi-state exercise of emergency responses to a 7.7 magnitude earthquake along the New Madrid Seismic Zone. The exercise, known nationally as CAPSTONE ‘14, also involved exercising the state’s Catastrophic Annex to the Tennessee Emergency Management Plan.

Haslam Announces SBA Disaster Declaration for Middle Tennessee

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 | 03:13 pm

Low-Interest Loans Available to Residents in Lincoln and Surrounding Counties

NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam announced today that the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has granted a disaster declaration for Lincoln County and its contiguous counties for the storm flooding and tornado damage that occurred on April 27-29, 2014.
The declaration includes Bedford, Franklin, Giles, Lincoln, Marshall and Moore counties in Tennessee. An SBA disaster declaration makes homeowners and businesses affected by the disaster eligible for low-interest loans.

Think about Health, Safety after Tornadoes and Floods

Wednesday, May 14, 2014 | 02:37 pm

NASHVILLE – More than half of tornado-related injuries in one situation came during rescue attempts and clean-up work, according to a recent Federal Emergency Management Agency study. As Tennessee moves into its prime tornado and flooding season, officials with the Tennessee Department of Health and the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency remind residents to think about health and safety after a disaster occurs.

Eight Tennessee Counties To Receive Federal Disaster Assistance

Friday, April 11, 2014 | 05:01 pm

Carroll, Cheatham, Dickson, Haywood, Houston, Madison, Shelby, Tipton counties   

NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam announced today the federal government will provide public assistance to eight counties due to the severe winter weather that brought snow, ice and sleet accumulations to the state from March 2 to March 4, 2014.

The presidential disaster declaration will allow government entities and certain private non-profits in Carroll, Cheatham, Dickson, Haywood, Houston, Madison, Shelby and Tipton counties to apply for reimbursement of specific expenses related to disaster response and recovery. 

Haslam Requests Disaster Declaration for March Storm

Tuesday, April 08, 2014 | 02:23 pm

Carroll, Cheatham, Dickson, Fayette, Haywood, Houston, Madison, Shelby and Tipton counties
NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam today requested a presidential disaster declaration for nine counties as a result of extreme winter weather on March 2-4, 2014.
The federal assistance programs would provide access to a 75 percent reimbursement of the eligible costs to Carroll, Cheatham, Dickson, Fayette, Haywood, Houston, Madison, Shelby, and Tipton counties. This request also includes the hazard mitigation program on a statewide basis.