Safety & Homeland Security

Media Advisory: Knoxville Driver Service Center Hosts Open House

Friday, October 15, 2010 | 02:27 pm
NASHVILLE --- The Tennessee Department of Safety is hosting an Open House at its new Knoxville Driver Service Center in Knox County from 1:00 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. on Thursday, October 21, 2010. Deputy Commissioner Greta Dajani and Driver Services Director Michael Hogan invite the public to the facility located at 430 Montbrook Lane, in Knoxville, Tennessee. 

THP Supports National School Bus Safety Week

Friday, October 15, 2010 | 12:07 pm
NASHVILLE--- The Tennessee Highway Patrol (THP) joins the promotion of the 2010 National School Bus Safety week and its theme, “Cross in View, It’s the Right Thing to Do”. By supporting the five-day annual event, which runs from October 18 through October 22, the THP hopes to highlight the importance of school bus safety awareness and education.

Tennessee Highway Patrol Nabs Prison Escapee

Wednesday, September 29, 2010 | 04:23 pm
Trooper Erick McCormick
Trooper Erick McCormick

NASHVILLE--- A Tennessee Highway Patrolman today captured a male inmate who escaped from a prison work detail at Roane Mountain State Park. 

Brian D. Knighton, 34, a prisoner from the Northeast Correctional Complex-Annex in Mountain City, stole a state-registered 2007 Dodge Caravan, changed the license plates, and fled the upper East Tennessee state park just after 3:30 p.m. on Tuesday, September 28.
All THP units in the Cookeville District were instructed to “be on the lookout”, and by Wednesday morning, Trooper Erick McCormick noticed the vehicle at the Marathon Gas station located on South Jefferson Avenue in Cookeville.  Trooper McCormick, who was assisted by additional State Troopers, took the subject into custody just before 11 a.m. this morning.

TDOS Names New Criminal Investigations Division Director

Tuesday, September 28, 2010 | 10:15 am
Rex Prince
Rex Prince
NASHVILLE --- Department of Safety Commissioner Dave Mitchell has named Rex Prince the new Director of the Criminal Investigation Division (CID), effective immediately. Prince replaces Captain Danny W. Talley who recently transferred to the THP Fall Branch District to become the district’s new Captain after Dean Hurley was promoted to Major over Field Operations Bureau-East.

TN Department of Safety Announces THP Promotions

Monday, September 27, 2010 | 12:43 pm
NASHVILLE --- The Tennessee Department of Safety today officially recognized the promotion of 14 members of the Tennessee Highway Patrol. The promotion ceremony took place at 10 a.m. on Monday, September 27, 2010 at the THP Training Center located at 275 Stewarts Ferry Pike in Nashville.