State Veterinarian Issues Wild Hog Transport OrderTuesday, June 26, 2012 | 02:54 pm
NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Department of Agriculture today announced an Order by the State Veterinarian specifying conditions under which wild-appearing hogs are to be transported in the state.
The order was issued in support of legislation passed this year by the Tennessee General Assembly and signed into law by Gov. Bill Haslam making it illegal to transport and release wild-appearing hogs without proper documentation. The new law goes into effect July 1.
“Wild hogs have the propensity to reproduce in great numbers, carry diseases, destroy crops and cause serious ecological damage,” state veterinarian Charles Hatcher said. “The purpose of the order is to help reduce the incidence of disease and to support efforts to prevent the illegal transportation and releasing of wild hogs.”
Wild hogs are typically two to three feet tall and up to five feet long with larger heads and heavier shoulders compared to domesticated breeds. Wild hogs also have smaller, pointed and heavily furred ears, longer snouts, tusks and straight tails.
Under the order, all wild-appearing swine being moved within the state must have one of the following:
• State or federally approved individual identification and proof that each hog has tested negative for Pseudorabies and Brucellosis within 90 days of movement.
• Proof that each individual hog originated from a Validated Brucellosis-free and Qualifed Pseudorabies-negative herd.
• A movement authorization number from the state veterinarian’s office.
Movement authorization numbers will be issued for wild-appearing swine being moved directly to slaughter, to a quarantined facility or to a veterinarian for testing. The order also provides for a movement authorization number to be issued for the transportation of wild-appearing production swine that are raised for meat or breeding purposes. Production facilities for which movement authorization numbers are issued may be subject to inspection by the department for verification purposes.
Movement authorization numbers can be obtained by phone Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. central time by calling the state veterinarian’s office at 615-837-5120. Producers will be required to provide information including the number of swine and the place of origin and destination. Movement authorization numbers will be good for specific transportation activities for up to 30 days.
For more information or to view the state veterinarian’s order visit TDA at www.tn.gov/agriculture and click on the Animal Health Information link.