Tennessee Highway Patrol Accepting Applications for Troopers

Monday, August 15, 2011 | 08:45 pm
NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Highway Patrol (THP) announced today it is aggressively seeking men and women who are interested in careers in law enforcement for a new Trooper Cadet Class slated to begin January 22, 2012. Applications will only be accepted from Monday, August 15 through Friday, August 26, 2011. 
 
Individuals interested in applying for the position of State Trooper must be at least 21 years old, a U.S. Citizen and have a high school diploma or equivalent. No applicants with felony convictions will be considered. If hired, individuals must obtain a valid Tennessee Driver License, and are required to successfully complete a Level II background investigation, which includes a credit check and polygraph test. Recruits must also pass a physical agility test, as well as psychological and medical examinations, including a drug screening.
 
Those interested in and qualified for the position of State Trooper should submit an employment application to the Tennessee Department of Human Resources for approval to take the civil service examination. All applicants must apply online at http://tn.gov/dohr/employment/career.html beginning Monday, August 15, 2011. Applications will not be accepted after August 26, 2011. Once approved by the Department of Human Resources, applicants will be contacted to take the Trooper examination on one of three dates: August 30, August 31, and September 1. All examinations will take place in Nashville only.
 
There are currently 903 authorized commissioned officer positions within the THP. Trooper recruits will be assigned to vacant positions across the state upon graduation. The starting salary for a Cadet during Trooper School is $2,500.00 per month. Upon graduation and commissioning as a Tennessee State Trooper, the salary will increase to $2,767.00 per month and includes other benefits such as a paid pension plan, low cost health insurance and paid holidays. Uniform, equipment and patrol vehicles are also provided by the THP. With regular pay increases, a Trooper can earn $49,344.00 per year after 10 years of service under the current pay structure. Recruits are paid while in training. The Trooper Class will last 18 weeks.
 
For additional information on becoming a State Trooper, visit the Department of Safety website at 
http://www.tn.gov/safety/thp/school.shtml. For more information about applications and testing, interested individuals are encouraged to contact the Tennessee Department of Human Resources Applicant Services Division at (615) 741-4841.     
 
The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security’s mission is (www.TN.Gov/safety) to ensure the safety and general welfare of the public. The department encompasses the Tennessee Highway Patrol, Office of Homeland Security and Driver License Services. General areas of responsibility include law enforcement, safety education, motorist services and terrorism prevention.
 
###