Lincoln and Tipton Counties Receive Federal Disaster Declaration

Wednesday, June 01, 2011 | 02:31 pm

NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam announced today the federal government will provide Individual Assistance in two additional counties as part of the current disaster declaration in Tennessee for the record flooding of the Mississippi River, beginning on April 19, 2011.

“I commend the federal government for continuing to add counties to our disaster declarations so our communities, families, friends and neighbors can continue on their way to recovery," Haslam said.

Individuals in Lincoln and Tipton counties are now eligible for federal assistance from the storms with a federal designation of DR-1979. Residents who sustained losses in these counties can begin applying for assistance immediately through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

At present, individuals in 24 Tennessee counties are receiving direct help from FEMA through its Individual Assistance program. More information on FEMA's Individual Assistance program is available at

Additionally, FEMA has approved Tipton County as eligible to receive federal reimbursement for all categories of FEMA’s Public Assistance program.  The designation allows government entities and certain private non-profits to apply for reimbursement of specific expenses related to disaster response and recovery.

A total of 48 Tennessee counties are now eligible for FEMA's Public Assistance program. More information on FEMA’s Public Assistance program can be found at

More information on Tennessee’s four federal disaster declarations in 2011 can be found on FEMA’s website here: DR-1965, DR-1974, DR-1978 and DR-1979.

For more updates regarding the state’s response, visit the TEMA website at