Six Additional Counties Eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Thursday, May 05, 2011 | 03:23 pm
Benefit Claims Must Be Filed Within 30 Days

The Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development announced today Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) unemployment benefits are now available for workers in Bledsoe, Cocke, Johnson, McMinn, Monroe and Rhea counties as a direct result of severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and associated flooding for the incident period of April 25, 2011, to April 28, 2011. This is Amendment 1 of the declaration for the State of Tennessee (FEMA-1974-DR).  Persons in these six counties must file their claim for DUA unemployment benefits within 30 days of this announcement (June 6, 2011).
“I am saddened to see such widespread hardship across the Volunteer State,” said Labor Commissioner Karla Davis. “This agency is taking adaptive measures to effectively deliver these extraordinary services wherever the need may be.”
This brings the total to 10 counties that have been approved for individual and public assistance. 
Persons affected by the disaster for previously approved counties of Bradley, Greene, Hamilton, and Washington have until June 2, 2011, to file for disaster unemployment benefits.
Individuals who are not covered for regular unemployment benefits may qualify for disaster unemployment benefits.  This includes self-employed workers and others not covered by the state unemployment insurance program whose source of income has been interrupted by the disaster damage. 
If possible, individuals should have access to their 2010 income tax return, Social Security Number, and any papers with wage and employment information prior to the disaster.
Weekly DUA benefit amounts are determined in the same way as regular unemployment benefits. Benefits range from $112 to $275 per week and are payable up to 26 weeks after the day of declaration, which was May 1, 2011.  DUA benefits will end if unemployment is no longer the direct result of the disaster.
If your unemployment claim is a direct result of the disaster, do not file your unemployment claim by Internet to avoid delays.
Persons who are unemployed as a result of the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and associated flooding for incident period April 25, 2011 to April 28, 2011, who need to file a Tennessee unemployment claim or DUA claim may call 615-253-0800, extension 7599, or 1-866-331-1271, extension 7599, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays or report in person to one of the following TDLWD Career Centers.  Designated Career Centers take claims on Mondays and Thursdays at 8:30 a.m.    
 These are the 22 career centers that take mass lack-of-work claims on a regular basis. 
410 Congress Parkway
1712 West State Street
5600 Brainerd Road, Suite A-5
Veterans Plaza, 350 Pageant Lane, Suite 406
119 Nashville Highway, Suite 106, Northway Shopping Ctr.
580 South Jefferson Ave., Suite A
60 Ridley Street
439 McGaughey Street
175 College Street
1481 Mullins Street
1016 Main Street
362 Carriage House Drive
Johnson City
2515 Wesley Street
1610 University Avenue
702 Mahr Avenue
107 Lyon Street
1313 Old Fort Parkway
2200 Rosa L. Parks Blvd. (previously Metro Center Blvd.)
1023 Mineral Wells Avenue, Suite F
1112 East Main Street
6057 W. Andrew Johnson Highway, Alpha Square, Suite A
111 East Lincoln Street
If persons affected by the disaster have relocated to Shelby, Fayette, or Tipton counties, they should apply for unemployment benefits in the following Tennessee Career Centers that process walk-in unemployment claims from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday:
Memphis - Mendenhall
5368 South Mendenhall Mall
Memphis - Raleigh
2850 Austin Peay Hwy., Suite 132
Memphis - Poplar
1295 Poplar Avenue
942 West Poplar, Suite 4
121 West Court Square
301C Lake Drive
973 Highway 51 North Bypass
For updates, please check our agency’s Web site at
-# # # -