State Receives $2.9 Million in Emergency Workforce Funds

Friday, September 17, 2010 | 08:12 am
 Grant Extends Temporary Jobs for Eligible Dislocated Workers
NASHVILLEThe Workforce Development division of the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development requested and received a National Emergency Grant (NEG) in the amount of $2.9 million from the U.S. Department of Labor. The NEG will be used to continue funding the temporary jobs created by the $1.7 million released in May for those affected by severe storms and flooding.
“These funds will extend employment for those who have lost their jobs as a result of the disaster,” said Commissioner James Neeley. “We have used this National Emergency Grant to put more than 500 Tennesseans to work in helping with local cleanup efforts.”
The NEG funds provide temporary jobs for local citizens to help in the cleanup, demolition, repair, renovation and reconstruction of destroyed public structures, facilities and land within the affected area and to address other cleanup issues related to the flooding. Regional Workforce Boards operate the programs in the affected areas. The additional $2.9 million funds the jobs through November 24, 2010.
“I commend the Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development and Commissioner Neeley for their leadership in overseeing this valuable program, which will continue putting Tennesseans to work on key flood recovery efforts,” said Congressman Bart Gordon. “Through the combined efforts of state and federal officials and the local residents who took the initiative to bring this issue to our attention, this funding will remain secure.”
The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) on May 4 declared the following 30 Tennessee counties eligible for FEMA’s Public Assistance program: Benton, Carroll, Cheatham, Crockett, Davidson, Decatur, Dickson, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Haywood, Henderson, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Madison, Maury, McNairy, Montgomery, Obion, Perry, Robertson, Rutherford, Shelby, Smith, Sumner, Tipton, Williamson and Wilson. The declaration was later amended to include the counties of Chester, Clay, DeKalb, Hardin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lewis, Macon, Stewart, Trousdale and Wayne.