FEMA Announces Additional 3 Counties Eligible for DUA

Thursday, May 20, 2010 | 11:29 am
45 Counties Now Authorized for Individual Assistance Disaster
Unemployment Benefits
NASHVILLE - Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) unemployment benefits are now available for workers in Cannon, Giles, and Marshall counties as a direct result of severe storms, flooding, straight-line winds, and tornadoes that began April 30, 2010, Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development James Neeley reported. This amends the declaration for the State of Tennessee (FEMA-1909-DR).  According to Commissioner Neeley, persons in these three counties must file their claim for DUA unemployment benefits within 30 days of this announcement. 
This brings the total to 45 counties that have been approved for individual and public assistance. While not approved for individual assistance, Pickett County has been approved in the public assistance category. This designation means local governments are eligible to apply for federal assistance for repairing, restoring or replacing damaged public facilities. 
“This is a direct line of assistance for those who are out of work due to this natural disaster,” said Commissioner Neeley. “We’ll open this assistance to other counties as they are declared disaster areas by FEMA.”   The Department of Labor and Workforce Development administers the program on behalf of the federal government. 
A claim must be filed by a specific deadline relative to their county.
The following counties have a June 7, 2010 deadline for filing for DUA unemployment claims Benton, Carroll, Cheatham, Crockett, Davidson, Decatur, Dickson, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Haywood, Henderson, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Madison, Maury, McNairy, Montgomery, Obion, Perry, Rutherford, Shelby, Sumner, Tipton and Williamson.
The following counties have a June 9, 2010 deadline for filing for DUA unemployment claims: Chester, Clay, DeKalb, Hardin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lewis, Macon, Robertson, Smith, Stewart, Trousdale, Wayne and Wilson. 
Individuals who are not covered for regular unemployment benefits may qualify for disaster unemployment benefits. This includes self-employed workers and others not covered by the state unemployment insurance program whose source of income has been interrupted by the disaster damage. 
If possible, individuals should have access to their 2009 income tax return, Social Security Number, and any papers with wage and employment information prior to the disaster. 
Weekly DUA benefit amounts are determined in the same way as regular unemployment benefits. Benefits range from $114 to $275 per week and are payable up to 26 weeks after the day of declaration, which was May 4, 2010. DUA benefits will end if unemployment is no longer the direct result of the disaster.
If your unemployment claim is a direct result of the disaster, do not file your unemployment claim by Internet to avoid delays.
Persons who are unemployed as a result of the severe storms, flooding, straight-line winds, and tornadoes that began April 30, 2010, who need to file an unemployment claim may call (615)253-0800, extension 7599 locally or 1-877-813-0950, extension 7599, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays or report in person to one of the following TDLWD Career Centers. Designated Career Centers take claims on Mondays at 8:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.; Thursdays at 8:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.; and Fridays at 8:30 a.m. 
The following Career Centers will be taking unemployment claims as a result of the disaster. These are the 22 career centers that take mass lack-of-work claims on a regular basis.  
410 Congress Parkway
1712 West State Street
5600 Brainerd Road, Suite A-5
Veterans Plaza, 350 Pageant Lane, Suite 406
119 Nashville Highway, Suite 106, Northway Shopping Ctr.
3300 Williams Enterprise Drive
60 Ridley Street
439 McGaughey Street
175 College Street
1481 Mullins Street
1016 Main Street
362 Carriage House Drive
Johnson City
2515 Wesley Street
1610 University Avenue
702 Mahr Avenue
107 Lyon Street
1313 Old Fort Parkway
2200 Rosa L. Parks Blvd. (previously Metro Center Blvd.)
1023 Mineral Wells Avenue, Suite F
1112 East Main Street
6057 W. Andrew Johnson Highway, Alpha Square, Suite A
111 East Lincoln Street
Residents in Shelby, Fayette, Lauderdale and Tipton counties should apply for unemployment benefits in the following Career Centers that process walk-in unemployment claims from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday: 
Memphis - Mendenhall
5368 Mendenhall Mall
Memphis - Raleigh          
2850 Austin Peay Hwy., Suite 132
Memphis - Poplar          
1295 Poplar Avenue
942 West Poplar, Suite 4
121 West Court Square
301C Lake Drive
724 East Lucky Plaza Hwy 51N
For updates, please check our agency’s Web site at www.tn.gov/labor-wfd/ .
-# # # -