New Savannah Driver Service Center to Open

Tuesday, August 11, 2009 | 09:03 am

NASHVILLE --- The Tennessee Department of Safety (TDOS) is opening a new Driver Service Center in Savannah, Tennessee, and closing the one currently located at 880 Pickwick Street. The new facility will be located at 60 Brazelton Street, Unit 10, in Savannah.

The current Hardin County Driver Service Center will close on Monday, August 17, and Tuesday, August 18, 2009, and reopen for business at its new location on Wednesday, August 19, at 7:00 a.m.  Normal hours of operation for the new facility remain Tuesday through Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. On the second Wednesday of each month, the facility opens one hour late due to a monthly staff meeting.
Customers may also utilize other nearby full-service Driver Service Centers in Lawrence and Hardeman Counties. The Lawrence County Driver Service Center is located at 235 East Gaines in Lawrenceburg. It is open Monday through Thursday from 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Central Time)
Directions to the Lawrence County Driver Service Center in Lawrenceburg are:
From Savannah, take Highway 64 East. After going for approximately 29 miles you will come into Waynesboro. Stay on Hwy 64 Bypass and you will come to a red light (across from the Hospital). Turn left and continue on Highway 64E for approximately 27 miles into Lawrenceburg. After your 3rd red light you will see the Driver Service Center on the right. The center is before you reach the Highway 43 intersection.
The Hardeman County Driver Service Center is located at 200 Harris Street in Whiteville. The facility is open Tuesday through Friday from 7:00 a.m. to 5:s0 p.m. (Central Time)
Directions to the Hardeman County Driver Service Center in Whiteville are:
From Savannah, take Hwy 64 East to Whiteville. Continue through Whiteville to Harris Street. Turn left onto Harris Street. The Driver Service Center will be approximately 200 feet from the turn off and is on the right. The building is tan with a red roof and lake in front.
Customers needing to renew or obtain a duplicate non-commercial driver license may also visit the Department of Safety County Clerk partners in Chester and Henderson Counties. The Chester County Clerk’s Office, located at 133 East Main Street in Henderson. Hours are Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. The Henderson County Clerk’s Office, located at 17 Monroe Ave., Suite 2, in Lexington is open Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 pm.
Customers only needing a duplicate license or to renew their driver license can also visit online at

The Tennessee Department of Safety’s mission is (www.TN.Gov/safety) to ensure the safety and general welfare of the public. The department encompasses the Tennessee Highway Patrol, Office of Homeland Security and Driver License Services. General areas of responsibility include law enforcement, safety education, motorist services and terrorism prevention.